As I have been cutting down on expenditure and have also been purchasing the raw food for our 3 Golden Retrievers for a while anyway, my mind has turned to how this rather large bill can be reduced. We feed our dogs raw food and mainly Raw Tripe mince from Natures Menu. They sometimes get leftovers thrown in as well but I noticed that the packet actually recommends a split of 50% meat, 25% veg/fruit and 25% carbs. This got me thinking about:

  1. How much money can I save?
  2. What veg/fruit is good to feed a dog?

I normally do the feeding and I give them 600g each although I can’t recall where this figure came from. Their last recorded weigh-in was 36.8kg, 25.7kg, 26kg.

The packet recommends a feed of 2-3% of body weight. Based on this 600g still seems like a good estimate as Daisy is definitely not fading away.

Dog Weight 2-3% Body Weight
37kg 740g-1110g
26kg 520g-780g

600g of tripe works out to 657kg a year. ( 365 * 3 * 600 ).

At £4.17 per 2kg this works out to £1,370 per year.

Only 50% meat or 300g  would, therefore, save £685 per year on the meat bill. Sounds good.

What about the veg/fruit? Those cost money and there is the question of what to include. At the moment I am thinking of:

  • buying in bulk, e.g. large sacks of carrots cost very little
  • growing some of it

I need to look into those points more but here’s a starting list of suggestions:

Fruit

  • Apple
  • Banana
  • Blueberries
  • Cantaloupe
  • Orange
  • Pear
  • Pineapple
  • Watermelon

Vegetables

Leave a Reply

